Cold Brew Coffee

brunch-33

Recipes by: Rj of Urban Table

Photo Styling & Art Direction by: Traci of Urban Table

Photography & Art Direction by: Heather of Heather Gill Photography

brunch-30

It may not be summer yet, but it sure feels like it here in the southwest! You’ll be wooed by this perfect chilled perk up.

As a hot coffee drinker for decades I understand the trepidation. I looked at my Grandmothers glass of iced coffee with bewilderment and later in life turned my nose up at the iced coffee drinkers at my local coffee house. I love my hot coffee, the process of brewing it, the smell and oh my and the flavor!  However, what I don’t love is sweat on my brow, the acidity in my stomach, the bitterness of burnt beans or even the luke warm temperature it inevitably becomes.

Our MDF solution… COLD BREW… No bitterness, no acidity, all the flavor, and you can make the concentrate (as technically as any coffee engineer would want) ahead of time and store it in the fridge. Refreshing, full flavored and incredibly rich and smooth!  Start sipping…

Cold Brew Coffee

12 oz coarsely ground coffee

7 cups water (we used filtered)

milk or half & half (this is to taste)

simple syrup (also to taste)

  1. Place ground coffee in a large container.
  2. Gradually add 7 cups of cold water.
  3. Stir gently to ensure all grounds are wet.
  4. Cover with a layer of cheesecloth or plastic wrap.
  5. Let stand for 15 to 24 hours at room temperature.
  6. Remove covering.  In a fine mesh sieve (lined with cheesecloth that you used to cover or a coffee filter.  Pour coffee through into another container. Do not stir grounds as it produces a cloudy end result.
  7. Cover jar and refrigerate for 2 hours.  Will keep for up to 2 weeks.

To serve fill a tall glass with ice and mix 1 part coffee with 1 part milk or half & half.  You could substitute filtered water for the milk.  Sweeten with simple syrup or add a pinch of salt for a real treat.

brunch-29

We have a jar of this waiting in the cooler for us to cool down on with the hot days ahead.  We hope your Monday is going well.  See you tomorrow.  We would love to hear from you.  Connect with us here in the comments or on our Facebook page.

doubleshotModern Day Forager

3 thoughts on “Cold Brew Coffee

  1. This looks very delicious! I’ve been making cold brew in a glass bottle (add coffee, stir, let sit in the fridge for 12 hours) but I need to upgrade my setup. I’m going to share this with my readers on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

